Taoism Symbols


Taoism Symbols


Taoism Symbols Image 
Taoism Symbols - Taoism is a religious belief practiced by those who follow the teachings of the Chinese philosopher Lao Tzu who was born in 300BC. - Taoism Symbols

A useful guide to symbols and beliefs of the Taoism faith. Discover the history and religious beliefs surrounding a selection of Taoism Symbols. Find out about: The Eight Immortals, Yin Yang Symbol, Taoism Philosophy and discover the difference between Daoism and Taoism.

Taoism is a religious belief practiced by those who follow the teachings of the Chinese philosopher Lao Tzu who was born in 300BC. It is one of five religions recognised in China and shares many of its principles with Confucianism. Its sacred texts are the writings of Zhuangzi and the Tao Te Ching which contain the teachings of Lao Tzu. The first line in the Tao Te Ching is: "The Tao that can be told is not the eternal Tao". The word 'Tao' means way and followers of Taoism believe that 'Tao' symbolises both the source and driving force behind everything that has been created.


Taoism Symbols - Yin Yang Symbol

  • Also known as the 'Taijitu', the Yin Yang symbol is one of the most important of the Taoism symbols
  • The word Taijitu translates to "diagram of ultimate power"
  • The Yin Yang symbol as shown on the right comprised two 'S' shaped images. The black shape is 'Yin' whilst the clear shape, often pictured colored white represents Yang
  • Many Taoist temples and buildings display the Yin Yang Symbol and it also appears on flags and logos that symbolise Taoism
  • Yin and Yang are complementary, not opposing forces
Taoism Symbols Image

Taoism Symbols - What is the difference between Taoism and Daoism?
What is the difference between Taoism and Daoism? The answer is nothing! They both refer to the same religion and are just different ways of translating the same word.

Taoism Symbols - Jade Emperor
According to Taoist mythology the Jade Emperor is the ruler of heaven. He also appears in Chinese culture and is one of the most important gods in Chinese religion. The Jade Emperor is referred to by many names including Heavenly Grandfather, Ancient Buddha, August personage of Jade and Yu Huang Shangdi. He rules all mortals but his rank is below that of the Three Pure Ones who are the three highest gods in the Taoist trinity.

Taoism Symbols - The Eight Immortals
According to Chinese mythology and the Taoist faith there are Eight Immortals. Each one having a specific power giving life or killing evil. Collectively, these eight individual powers are referred to as the "Covert Eight Immortals". The Immortals are:

  • Immortal Woman He (He Xiangu)
  • Royal Uncle Cao (Cao Guojiu)
  • Iron-Crutch Li (Tieguai Li)
  • Lan Caihe
  • L Dongbin (leader)
  • Philosopher Han Xiang (Han Xiang Zi)
  • Elder Zhang Guo (Zhang Guo Lao)
  • Han Zhongli (Zhongli Quan)
Taoism Symbols - The Eight Immortals Image

Taoism Symbols - Definition of Belief
Being religious is defined as the outward act or form by which a person indicates their recognition of the existence of a god or of gods having power over their destiny, to whom obedience, service, and honor are due. Having a religious belief or faith is being in awe of some superhuman and overruling power, whether by profession of belief, by observance of rites and ceremonies, or by the conduct of life. Religion is a framework of beliefs relating to supernatural or superhuman beings or forces that transcend the everyday material world. Being religious is to have a strong belief, a faith in a supernatural power or powers that control human destiny; "he lost his faith but not his morality".

Facts about Taoism Symbols

  • Taoism Symbols Fact One: The number two is an important symbol in the Taoist faith. Followers of Taoism believe in the complementary and opposing forces of Ying and Yang

  • Taoism Symbols Fact Two: Mountains are symbolic in Taoism, it is believed that people can communicate with immortals through mountains. In Taoism there are five sacred mountains

  • Taoism Symbols Fact Three: The Tao Te Ching and the writings of Zhuangzi are  the sacred texts of Taoism

  • Taoism Symbols Fact Four: The 'Three Pure Ones' are the highest ranking gods in the Taoist trinity, they are The Grand Pure One, The Jade Pure One and The Supreme Pure One

  • Taoism Symbols Fact Five: The Supreme Pure One, one of the three gods of the Taoist trinity is also known as the keeper of the sacred book

  • Taoism Symbols Fact Six: Taoism is both a religious tradition and a philosophical belief

  • Taoism Symbols Fact Seven: The 'Three Treasures' of Taoism also known as the 'Three Jewels' are Moderation, Compassion and Humility

  • Taoism Symbols Fact Eight: Several martial arts including T'ai Chi follow the Taoist principles

  • Taoism Symbols Fact Nine: Astrology and Fortune Telling are both traditional activities for followers of Taoism

  • Taoism Symbols Fact Ten: Both Confucianism and Taoism share the terms 'Tao' and 'Deo'

  • Taoism Symbols Fact Eleven: The Taijitu, better known as the Yin Yang symbol is a simple design made up of various nested circles. Each half contains a dot in opposite colors

  • Taoism Symbols Fact Twelve: Ba gua means "Eight Symbols" and are referred to as "Trigrams" in English. They are used in Taoism to symbolise the the principles of reality

Taoism Symbols - Spirituality
Discover facts and information about a huge range of spiritual and religious emblems, symbols and signs. Read about each of the individual symbols and its significance to Taoism. Find out interesting facts about Lao Tzu. Who are the Eight Immortals? What is the significance of the Jade emperor in Taiosm? Discover the answers to these questions and many more, a useful educational resource for everyone.

Taoism Symbols

Taoism Symbols

  • Interesting information about Taoism Symbols

  • Meaning of Taoism Symbols

  • Origin and History of Taoism Symbols

  • Facts about iconic Taoism Symbols

  • Pictures and Description of Taoism Symbols

Taoism Symbols Picture


Pictures and Videos of Taoism Symbols
Discover the vast selection of pictures which relate to Taoism Symbols and illustrate the different Religious emblems, symbols and signs that we see in everyday life. All of the articles and pages can be accessed via the Signology Index - a great educational resource for everyone! Find out about different religious emblems and symbols including their significance to a variety of religions including Judaism, Christianity, Islam, Hinduism, Buddhist, Taoism, Sikhism and Confucianism.


Taoism Symbols -  Taoism - Daoism - Religious - Signs - Symbol - Sign - Symbolism - Tattoos - Meanings - Pictures - Dictionary - Picture - Pics - Image - Images - Definition - Definitions - Symbolizes - Meaning - Faith - Believe - Lifeway - Lao Tzu - Encyclopedia - Buddhism - Beliefs - Tao - Chinese Culture - Jade - Symbols

Copyright 2014 Cyber Synergy Ltd

Cookie Policy